• Responding to email notices you receive.
    **************************************************
    In short, DON'T! Email notices are to ONLY alert you of a reply to your private message or your ad on this site. Replying to the email just wastes your time as it goes NOWHERE, and probably pisses off the person you thought you replied to when they think you just ignored them. So instead of complaining to me about your messages not being replied to from this site via email, please READ that email notice that plainly states what you need to do in order to reply to who you are trying to converse with.

  • IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ!! About the Google Adsense ads being displayed

    =====================
    Posted 08/15/2025
    =====================


    Yeah, I know. They are a pain in the butt. But they pay the bills to keep my server running. Just a fact of life, I am afraid.

    Want to get rid of them? Simple. Just become a Contributor level member or above and they will be gone. -> Please click HERE."

    Is that too much for me to ask of you to keep this site running? Well, sorry about that. I too wish I could get everything for free. But alas.....

    =====================
    Addendum: 01/10/2026
    =====================


    Google Adsense ad revenue for December, 2025 was just $30 over the cost of the lease for the server running this site. So, in effect, the money providing the incentive for me to continue running this site is coming SOLELY from the paid memberships and sponsorships here. Which honestly ain't much....

Need help from some of the Pros here

Mike Greathouse

Reptilian Dreams
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
1,357
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Florida
My web site is hosted by Fauna and one of the available features is a PHP-based Advanced Guestbook script which allows messages and pictures to be posted to that section of my site.

I like this feature, but have been considering doing away with it, because of what I believe to be some type of spam or scam that I'm receiving on a daily basis. Every day, sometimes twice daily, I get messages posted that are essentially identical. Here is one from today:

Great site! Regards: Thanks for the good info Way I'll be back very soon to see any update.
The messages seem harmless enough at face value, but when you go into the admin features of the Guestbook they all trace back to a web site called http://umaxsearch-se.com/ . Each message traces back to a different sub-section within their forum section. I have followed the links to these pages a couple of times and my Virus Protection immediately alerted.

I have deleted every message that has been posted and blocked the ISP from accessing my site, but they seem to never use the same one, or at least have a never-ending supply.

Here is the info from one of today's postings from the Guestbook Admin:

Name: 925098
E-Mail: [email protected]
Location: Micronesia
Homepage: http://umaxsearch-se.com/forum/925098/guide paxil medication boards
ICQ: 925098
AIM:
Gender: M
Host 3dccca4d.tcat.ne.jp
Browser: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; iebar)
Your Message: Great site! Regards: Thanks for the good info Way I'll be back very soon to see any update.

Anybody have any idea what's going on with this?

Thanks,
 
Last edited:
Another one

Here's one that was posted just a few minutes ago:

Name: 743311
E-Mail: [email protected]
Location: Yugoslavia
Homepage: http://umax-search-search-engine.com/forum/743311/guide valium vs xana
ICQ: 743311
AIM:
Gender: M
Host: 66.178.40.2
Browser: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)
Your Message: Great site! Regards: Thanks for the good info Way I'll be back very soon to see any update.


Anybody have a clue what this is about?

Thanks,
 
Mike,

I am an Admin at another forum and often we have people sign up with home pages that seem to point to search engines, off shore "drug stores", insurance sales, etc. Once in awhile they post in the forum itself. I just delete the users as I see them come and don't worry about it too much.
 
Like this one, about to be deleted which points to a porn site I'm guessing:
Viewing profile :: poprokg
Avatar All about poprokg

New Community Member
Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Total posts: 0
[0.00% of total / 0.00 posts per day]
Find all posts by poprokg
Location: USA
Website: http://top.juicygenitals.com
Occupation: Work
Interests: internet
 
Jim,
That's what I've been doing, but in the last couple of weeks, I've been getting several of these a day. It starts getting a little old.

I can't understand whats drawing them to my site in the first place.

I did some more digging, and it appears as though there may be a BLOG that is pointing to my site. I'm clueless as to where all this is coming from. I block every ISP, but it doesn't seem to be slowing them down at all.

Also, the sites that start out as http://umaxsearch-search-engine.com seem to always trigger Virus alerts when you click on them. Maybe I'm being paranoid, but it seems something is fishy here.

Thanks,
 
Mike,

What I will see is a flurry of activity over a day or days, then it slows down, then it happens again. I suspect that some people pay to have people sign up at other sites and post links, hoping to get hits. Someone with a more malicious website seems to have your number. Maybe you should shut the feature down for a week or two and see if they don't go away.
 
Jim,
That sounds like good advice - that I'm sure I will heed.
I would just like to find out what it's all about as well.

Thanks,
 
Back
Top