FaunaClassifieds
 Sponsors   Breeders | Dealers |  Importers/Exporters | Caging | Feed | Supplies | Services | Events 
  Inside FaunaClassifieds  Chat  |  Product Reviews |  Classifieds!   | Photo Gallery   | Banner Advertising 
 
  Want to help support this site? Click here.


Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  

Home » Caging » Caging Accessories/Supplies « Previous Product  · Next Product »

ESU Digital Thermometer
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 11545 Sat November 10, 2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
71% of reviewers $6.00 5.7
esu_therm.jpeg


Description: Ideal for aquariums and terrariums. Readings in 0.1 degrees Fahrenheit or Celsius. Temperature range -10 degrees F to 140 degrees F (-23 degrees C to 60 degrees C). Mounting suction cups and battery included. 39 inch long temperature probe cord.
Keywords: ESU thermometer


Author
Post A Reply 
Kingetula
Venomous Keeper


Registered: June 2006
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 496
Review Date: Sun June 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: No problems with this thermometer.
Cons: I wish it told the humidity levels as well.

An online petshop gave this to me free with an order I placed. I still use it!! I bought a thermometer from lowes for $30.00 + and they were .2 to .1 off from each other.

I would buy this if I needed another one

------------------------------
We are the people that rule the world!

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/pr...00000141168531
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
drachenquatsch
drachenquatsch

Registered: August 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed July 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: easy to use, extremely inexpensive,
Cons: a tiny bit off and not instant

I have a couple of them and they're all off by a degree or two, but since I always provide a gradient anyway, it's not a big deal

------------------------------
rhea
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Mooing Tricycle
Misanthrope / Childfree


Registered: June 2005
Location: Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Posts: 6136
Review Date: Tue July 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

These are good if youre just trying to see a general temperature, and not something super accurate. They work, and id use them for single applications if needed.

------------------------------
"Of bliss and cheerful laughter, We're lost in barren lands
Caught in the running flames, Alone, How shall we leave the lost road, Time's getting short so follow me
A leader's task so clearly, To find a path out of the dark"
This user is online
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Mooing Tricycle's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Ivyna J Spyder
Registered User

Registered: September 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 11
Review Date: Thu February 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $6.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Cheap I guess?
Cons: Can be very innacurate

I used to use a lot of these for my geckos and others, until I got a temperature gun- which revealed they were off by anywhere from 5 to 20 degrees, usually reading too low. I think only one of them out of five actually read the right temp within a degree or two. That's outright dangerous.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
akonitony
Karma Ho

Registered: July 2010
Location: High Springs, Florida 32643
Posts: 396
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Cheap

I use it in my fish tank. As long as you don't touch it, you will get a readout. If you bump the sending wire, or move the unit in any way, the screen usually goes blank and sometimes will not readout for a while after wards. This might be a fluke with my particular unit.

------------------------------
One must realize compared with life elsewhere in the universe, life on earth is extremely primitive. Our methods, knowledge, and our machines are primitive. Yet, it's easy to feel we have reached the pinnacle of wisdom and knowledge. 1 Corinthians 3:19,20 and Isaiah 55:8,9 are enlightening.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
AGoodwin
Animal Enthusiast

Registered: January 2012
Location: Wentworth, NH, USA
Posts: 497
Review Date: Sun February 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $6.99 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Long Probe Wire, Clear Display, Simple Design
Cons: Does not last long. Wire Connection goes bad. Display Deteriorates.

Bottom line, these are really great when you first get them, but they don't last long.

I have owned several of these thermometers and would like to say that my problems with them were a one time occurrence, but every one that I have owned has gone bad within a few months to a year. The probe connection will go loose and cause the reading to jump around like crazy. Sometimes moving it around and resetting the power will fix it, but its only a matter of time before it happens again. Ive also had trouble with the display disappearing. It come back if you press on the screen or reset the power most of the time. I have only had one of these thermometers last long enough that I needed to replace the battery.

------------------------------

Friend Me on Facebook ~ Follow Me on Twitter
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
C.J. Vogler
Gigity gigity gigity gooo

Registered: April 2009
Location: Naples, Fl. 34120
Posts: 280
Review Date: Sat November 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fairly close readings
Cons: only fairly close lol

I use this to monitor the temp of my tubs in the front or cool end in the racks. Its seems pretty accurate but I always use a temp gun to check everything every couple days.

------------------------------
"I'd rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." Gen. George S. Patton, Jr.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.





since April 17, 2002




TESTING!
Fauna Top Sites


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyrighted 2002-2014, FaunaClassifieds, LLC