FaunaClassifieds  
 Sponsors Ľ  Breeders | Dealers |  Importers/Exporters | Caging | Feed | Supplies | Services | Events 
  Inside FaunaClassifieds Ľ Chat  |  Product Reviews |  Classifieds!   | Photo Gallery   | Banner Advertising 
 
  Want to help support this site? Click here.


Notices

  Home · Search · Member List · · Register  

Home » Caging » Caging Accessories/Supplies « Previous Product  · Next Product »

Zoo Med Repti Heat Cable
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 20070 Sun December 11, 2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $20.92 6.7
RHC-25ReptiHeatCable.jpeg
supersize


Description: Zoo Medís new Repti Heat Cable allows you to put the heat right where you need it. Wrap it around branches or cage furniture! Use it underneath the tank or in breeder racks! Flexible, water resistant, and durable Repti Heat Cable has numerous uses for the professional or the hobbyist. Discover what keepers in Europe have used for years. Repti Heat Cable is available in 4 sizes: 15 watt(11.5'), 25 watt(15'), 50 watt(23'), and 100 watt(39').
Keywords: Zoo Med Heat cable


Author
Post A Reply 
ReptileJay
Registered User

Registered: July 2008
Location: Chapel Hill NC
Posts: 414
Review Date: Wed October 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Low cost, High efficiency, Water resistant, Safe
Cons:

This product an extremely versatile heat source. The fact that the heat cable is water resistant allows for it to be used INSIDE the enclosure in order to increase the temperature of specific areas of the enclosure.
Due to the structure of the cables, I do not use them in my racks simply because they somewhat interfere with the ease of access to each housing unit. I suppose that a rack can be designed to use this product fairly easily, but it seems like a fairly large amount of cable would be required to heat the rack properly.
Outside of the rack setting however, I find this product to be fantastic.

Unlike other space efficient heating elements, Heat Cable is very unlikely to cause burns when not attached to a thermostat, but will reach fairly high temperatures that COULD potentially harm your reptile. (depending on species)

Use of a thermostat will increase efficiency.

------------------------------
Jason Arnold
https://www.facebook.com/SterlingSerpents
https://www.sterlingserpents.com
Email: jay@Sterlingserpents.com
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
brian abrams
Registered User

Registered: January 2008
Location: hamburg, ny
Posts: 28
Review Date: Thu December 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $37.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: versatility, price, effectiveness
Cons: lots of experimentation & work to set it up

I've used the 52' Zoomed cable for over a year. It takes a lot of experimentation & work-Taping it down, over & over again until you have the right amount to properly heat your tubs-especially in the winter. It works great, though-once you have the proper amount taped under your tubs. You can cover the bottom of 1/4, 1/3, 1/2, 2/3 etc of your tubs as needed to get your required temps. I use the cable with both a thermostat and a rheostat for maximum versatility. By the way-dont waste your money on the shorter lengths.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
HecticLifeReptiles
Registered User

Registered: May 2010
Location: Kennewick, WA, 99336
Posts: 133
Review Date: Mon February 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Heated up quickly and was perfect for side heat
Cons: horrible under tanks, breaks easily, is easily worn and unreliable in heat output

We originally bought one of these to heat under our BP's tank, it's a 55 Gallon. We had to place tape on the cord just to get it under the tank. After placing the tank on top of the cord, we noticed we had accidentally placed the tank edge on the conductor at the end, we lifted the tank, but the conducter had broken off. We then went to buy another and used it on our rack system with tubs, it worked better for that project, but it seemed very unpredicatable in the heating aspect. Some tubs were hotter than others, some were ambient temps. I would not recommend this product, but to each their own.

------------------------------
FedEx Certified!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bobbyharpoon
Registered User

Registered: May 2011
Location: Manteca, Ca. USA
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat October 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Flexible and water proof
Cons: it will get real hot

This can be a great product. I hooked it up and wrapped it around a branch several times. After it set for a while I tested it with laser thermometer. Some places it was over 150 degrees. I went back and read the package and found you cannot overlap the wire. So I followed the rules and did not overlap. The warmest place on it after that was just over 90deg. So follow the instructions or you could burn your animal.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
M.Teran
Registered User

Registered: October 2011
Location: Bayard, Nm USA
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue October 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $18.49 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Water resistance, cost and versatility
Cons: A little warmer than expected

Great product. Quickly and efficiently heats my small rack system to 91 degrees on the warm side. I have it hooked up to a rheostat and even on the lowest setting the element stays pretty hot. Coincidentally it is just the right temp for my intended daytime highs. On my way to trying this product with a thermostat.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
anolisherp
Registered User

Registered: August 2011
Location: Bradenton, Florida, United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun December 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Very good for Leopard Geckos
Cons: Kinda hard to place in a cage

I like it it works really well for my Leopard Geckos but it's hard to place it around the cage in a fashion that looks nice.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.





since April 17, 2002




TESTING!
Fauna Top Sites


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyrighted ©2002-2014, FaunaClassifieds, LLC