C
Chris@TSE
Guest
I'd like to simply inform you people that I would recommend using caution when dealing with this individual. I had noticed he was advertising a pair of ADULT het pieds. One proven male and a 1400 gram unproven female. Both from Pete Kahl apparently. We can always use more pieds in our current projects so obviously this interested me considering they would produce for us this season. We've had plenty of hets of our own but picking up a few that could produce for us this season is ALWAYS ideal.
Here is our correspondence literally minutes after he posted his advertisment.... Our emails will be in navy, his will be in red.....
>From: [email protected]
>To: [email protected]
>Subject: Message about: 1.1 100% het for Pied Adults Date: Fri, 24 Dec
>2004
>21:43:57 -0600 (CST)
>
>Hey Daniel, Send over photos of the adults. We may take on another
>adult pair this season if these specimens can be verified directly thru pete.
>Talk to you soon.
>
>----------------------------------------------
>Click on (or cut and paste into you browser's location window) the URL
>below to view the ad that this message is in response to.
>
>http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?de=280900&cat=32
>
>
>----------------------------------------------
>This message was sent by the user: topshelfexotics
>
>Sent 09:43 PM, Dec 24th, 2004 from I.P. Address 129.44.138.111
Ill take some pics tommrow afternoon of the female she at the shop I wasnt planning on selling her and she normal looking so i dont have pics of her and yeah just give Pete a call after the holidays and well talk Have a wondeful holiday Thanks Daniel Haney
>From: "Sales@TSE"
>To: "'jahaira haney'"
>Subject: RE: Message about: 1.1 100% het for Pied Adults
>Date: Fri, 24 Dec 2004 22:58:18 -0500
>
>Not a problem, ill wait on the photo and then speak with pete afterwards.
>We'll go from there..... take care.
>
>Sales Department
>Top Shelf Exotics
>http://topshelfexotic.com
i think im going to hold on to them im probally being foolish lettting them go right now Dan
This is where it began smelling quite fishy. I decided to go ahead and email him from a gmail address, I looked up the ad on kingsnake and to my surprise I had found it was already removed! I had a horrible feeling that this was either a scam or somethng was just not right about it. I also had a feeling that if I did indeed email him from a different address that these same specimens would magically be up for sale to someone not as well known as myself...
Since the ad was no longer running I duplicated the email info from the kingsnake add such as the title and ect. and sent him a mail from a gmail account with a similar inquiry, i've listed this correspondence below as well.
Remember, this is a good ten minutes after he had stated he was no longer selling them. Again, our emails will be navy, his will be red. This time he beleives it is an inquiry from some random joe schmoe and not top shelf exotics. And low and behold, THEYRE FOR SALE AGAIN!
22:23:57 -0600 (CST)
Papers? Photos? Will you take 4900 shipped? Let me know.
D.S. ----------------------------------------------
Click on (or cut and paste into you browser's
location window) the URL below to view the ad that
this message is in response to.
http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?de=280900&cat=32
----------------------------------------------
jahaira haney to me
Show options 11:36pm (10 minutes ago)
yes theres paperwork I dont have photos right now i can take them for you
they just look like normals both have markers it wasnt a planned sell ill
take 4900 shipped
Dan
In my book, this is what I call -busted-. This may very well not prove a scam, but it certainly tells me that this is one individual I would certainly NEVER personally deal with nor recommend to anyone for that matter. Please use caution dealing with this person and use this experience of ours to educate your decisions.
Note: This is a shared experience, we have no way of proving whether or not he was mis-representing specimens or attempting to scam. YET. I am sure he can easily offer random specimens and have someone vouch he had made a purchase. So far along the lines of a scam, it certainly seems like one. As always... You be the judge. Please use EXTREME caution when dealing with this individual. And feel free to browse down to the list of "similar" links, ironically they are all "Bad Guy" or similar posts.......... Go figure.
Happy Holidays!
Here is our correspondence literally minutes after he posted his advertisment.... Our emails will be in navy, his will be in red.....
>From: [email protected]
>To: [email protected]
>Subject: Message about: 1.1 100% het for Pied Adults Date: Fri, 24 Dec
>2004
>21:43:57 -0600 (CST)
>
>Hey Daniel, Send over photos of the adults. We may take on another
>adult pair this season if these specimens can be verified directly thru pete.
>Talk to you soon.
>
>----------------------------------------------
>Click on (or cut and paste into you browser's location window) the URL
>below to view the ad that this message is in response to.
>
>http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?de=280900&cat=32
>
>
>----------------------------------------------
>This message was sent by the user: topshelfexotics
>
>Sent 09:43 PM, Dec 24th, 2004 from I.P. Address 129.44.138.111
Ill take some pics tommrow afternoon of the female she at the shop I wasnt planning on selling her and she normal looking so i dont have pics of her and yeah just give Pete a call after the holidays and well talk Have a wondeful holiday Thanks Daniel Haney
>From: "Sales@TSE"
>To: "'jahaira haney'"
>Subject: RE: Message about: 1.1 100% het for Pied Adults
>Date: Fri, 24 Dec 2004 22:58:18 -0500
>
>Not a problem, ill wait on the photo and then speak with pete afterwards.
>We'll go from there..... take care.
>
>Sales Department
>Top Shelf Exotics
>http://topshelfexotic.com
i think im going to hold on to them im probally being foolish lettting them go right now Dan
This is where it began smelling quite fishy. I decided to go ahead and email him from a gmail address, I looked up the ad on kingsnake and to my surprise I had found it was already removed! I had a horrible feeling that this was either a scam or somethng was just not right about it. I also had a feeling that if I did indeed email him from a different address that these same specimens would magically be up for sale to someone not as well known as myself...
Since the ad was no longer running I duplicated the email info from the kingsnake add such as the title and ect. and sent him a mail from a gmail account with a similar inquiry, i've listed this correspondence below as well.
Remember, this is a good ten minutes after he had stated he was no longer selling them. Again, our emails will be navy, his will be red. This time he beleives it is an inquiry from some random joe schmoe and not top shelf exotics. And low and behold, THEYRE FOR SALE AGAIN!
22:23:57 -0600 (CST)
Papers? Photos? Will you take 4900 shipped? Let me know.
D.S. ----------------------------------------------
Click on (or cut and paste into you browser's
location window) the URL below to view the ad that
this message is in response to.
http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?de=280900&cat=32
----------------------------------------------
jahaira haney to me
Show options 11:36pm (10 minutes ago)
yes theres paperwork I dont have photos right now i can take them for you
they just look like normals both have markers it wasnt a planned sell ill
take 4900 shipped
Dan
In my book, this is what I call -busted-. This may very well not prove a scam, but it certainly tells me that this is one individual I would certainly NEVER personally deal with nor recommend to anyone for that matter. Please use caution dealing with this person and use this experience of ours to educate your decisions.
Note: This is a shared experience, we have no way of proving whether or not he was mis-representing specimens or attempting to scam. YET. I am sure he can easily offer random specimens and have someone vouch he had made a purchase. So far along the lines of a scam, it certainly seems like one. As always... You be the judge. Please use EXTREME caution when dealing with this individual. And feel free to browse down to the list of "similar" links, ironically they are all "Bad Guy" or similar posts.......... Go figure.
Happy Holidays!
