Herpcam
New member
I'm reluctant to post here as I know that sometimes these messages get out of control, but I had to put out this bit of info. I don't think this is a complaint for or against this dealer, but I hope it helps keep someone from being disappointed in the future.
I called Midwest Exotic Pets last night about this message -
http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=31&de=71144
The message clearly states that the available geckos are het amelanistic fattail geckos. I called and asked him a couple questions and realized that what he is selling are actually possible hets, as they come from het to het breeding. To his credit, he does say in the ad that the amel pictured is from his het to het breeding, but goes on to say that you are buying het siblings. If someone puts 2 and 2 together, you'll probably realize what you're getting, but if not you may be disappointed when your 'hets' turn out to be normal a year or 2 down the road when you only produce normal fattails.
When I pointed this out to the man (Art?) who answered the phone, he said something to the effect of - Oh, is that what you call these? I don't think that someone in this business selling any number of animals would not know what they were, but it is entirely possible. So, I emailed him a bit after our conversation and recommended he repost the ad and let people know that they are indeed Possible Hets so that he doesn't misrepresent them.
Once again, this is not a judgement about his business practices, as I have not done business with him. I just wanted to let others know what they're buying if they are considering those ones, or if someone has already bought them.
I called Midwest Exotic Pets last night about this message -
http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=31&de=71144
The message clearly states that the available geckos are het amelanistic fattail geckos. I called and asked him a couple questions and realized that what he is selling are actually possible hets, as they come from het to het breeding. To his credit, he does say in the ad that the amel pictured is from his het to het breeding, but goes on to say that you are buying het siblings. If someone puts 2 and 2 together, you'll probably realize what you're getting, but if not you may be disappointed when your 'hets' turn out to be normal a year or 2 down the road when you only produce normal fattails.
When I pointed this out to the man (Art?) who answered the phone, he said something to the effect of - Oh, is that what you call these? I don't think that someone in this business selling any number of animals would not know what they were, but it is entirely possible. So, I emailed him a bit after our conversation and recommended he repost the ad and let people know that they are indeed Possible Hets so that he doesn't misrepresent them.
Once again, this is not a judgement about his business practices, as I have not done business with him. I just wanted to let others know what they're buying if they are considering those ones, or if someone has already bought them.