• Responding to email notices you receive.
    **************************************************
    In short, DON'T! Email notices are to ONLY alert you of a reply to your private message or your ad on this site. Replying to the email just wastes your time as it goes NOWHERE, and probably pisses off the person you thought you replied to when they think you just ignored them. So instead of complaining to me about your messages not being replied to from this site via email, please READ that email notice that plainly states what you need to do in order to reply to who you are trying to converse with.

  • IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ!! About the Google Adsense ads being displayed

    =====================
    Posted 08/15/2025
    =====================


    Yeah, I know. They are a pain in the butt. But they pay the bills to keep my server running. Just a fact of life, I am afraid.

    Want to get rid of them? Simple. Just become a Contributor level member or above and they will be gone. -> Please click HERE."

    Is that too much for me to ask of you to keep this site running? Well, sorry about that. I too wish I could get everything for free. But alas.....

    =====================
    Addendum: 01/10/2026
    =====================


    Google Adsense ad revenue for December, 2025 was just $30 over the cost of the lease for the server running this site. So, in effect, the money providing the incentive for me to continue running this site is coming SOLELY from the paid memberships and sponsorships here. Which honestly ain't much....

Inquiry General Exotics / GeneralExotics.com?

FFSTRescue

New member
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Minneapolis, MN United States
Has anyone done business with this company lately? I have read old posts on here and there wasn't too much information, but has anyone had any personal good or bad experiences or seen reviews on other websites? They have some reptiles in stock now that I would like to purchase, so if anyone could give me some input, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)
 
i never made got any of their animals but i did place an order but after 2 weeks of them pushing the shipping date forward i cancelled my order.I dont know if that helps any.
 
This seems ridiculous to me, I would use caution when ordering from them.

Taken from website:

Note: We do not provide individual pictures. Please don't ask.

Bottom of Page:

Animal Photos
Please note that the photos on our website are a representative of that species and the actual animal you receive may differ from the photo.

Read more: http://www.generalexotics.com/snake.../black-pastel-ball-python-p-804#ixzz0qQ1L5Cxh
 
That likely means that they are a broker, and not in possession of the animals.
 
I was looking for the same information and then, when I went to order, they show on their website that they have a "good guy" rating from faunaclassified, so I went ahead and ordered. I am new at this, spent $$$ on set up for adopted baby RES. The little girl who had it, kept it in a approx 3 x 4" plastic cage since November!!! He/She survived, is now thriving and I was looking for a roomie for him/her. I will post any info I can, the sales email was very helpful...
Have patience with me, am a newbie to your forums...:)
 
They just posted an ad for part time help here, saying "We're looking for someone to help us build our reputation at FaunaClassifieds.com."

I'm not sure how that works, in my world, people build their own reps. Might hire advertising, but I'm thinking your critters and your customer service are usually what makes your reputation in the reptile world.

This is by no means an adversarial post, I'm just puzzled at the concept.
 
I can say this.. .I wouldnt want anyone else building my business's reputation. That is my job and something I take very seriously. I'll build it the same way I have since I started. My animals, my customer support, and my OWN posting.
 
Not to mention they tell you they dont accept phone calls....... I saw several other pics that belong to other people... I think this is one of those Nigerian scams...... there have been alot of those creeping up lately....
 
Well it's obvious they steal pics of snakes from people... Here is a pic of Brazilians Red tails from their site that is obviously one of Gus's Brazilian from Rio Bravo


http://www.generalexotics.com/snakes-boas-anacondas-c-6_90/brazilian-red-tail-boa-p-867


Here is Rio Bravo's site.... Gus doesnt sell to just anyone.. and I seriously doubt he sells to brokers...

http://www.riobravoreptiles.com/boas_trueredtails.htm

There goes their positive reputation they were trying to buy

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
 
I placed an order with general exotics last month and like someone else said their shipping date kept getting pushed back and back and back and I just asked for a refund. I do have to give them credit they were quick to respond to my refund and emailed me twice to let me know about shipping dates. I wouldn't order from them again though
 
I can see that you guys all have far reaching knowledge about this stuff whilst I am, again, very new at it. In any event, I will say the baby RES I ordered arrived on time (i know they are much easier to acquire than some of the stuff you guys deal with), he/she has so far, (its been 8 days), been active....eats like crazy, still shy, basks a lot (which worried me at first), but has no problems that I can detect. Very cute...Positive experience at this time with this purchase. Too bad about the PR stuff, you are correct. Reputations should be earned, not purchased.
 
I think some of their info sounds shady (no pics of animals, no phone calls, hiring to build reputation) I agree with an earlier poster that hiring for advertising is one thing but hiring someone to make you look better makes no sense, I pride MYSELF on the appearance of MY animals, cages, and the way I do business would never pay someone to make ME look better. Just an opinion but id maybe look elsewhere. Kyle @ kgboas
 
I think the practice of using pics of other people's snakes to represent what they sell is criminal..... that is false advertising.... all the way.... I would highly suggest avoiding a purchase from this company....
 
Please allow me to respond to the criticisms.

First, thank you Wendy for your business and I am glad we were able to provide you with what you were looking for.

Secondly, I removed the boa image at the request of Gus and sent my apologies. I will do likewise for any other errors I may have made. I do ask for permission or I try to use public domain images. I plan to someday get all of my own images but we all have to start somewhere.

I doubt GeneralExotics.com is a nigerian scam. I hope FaunaClassifieds doesn't have any BOI good guys that are actually nigerian scams. GeneralExotics.com is for real, providing quality reptiles to lots of people.

I don't do phone because I have a hearing loss. I try very hard to keep up with emails.

I don't provide individual pictures because I am a broker and not in possession of the actual animals. It says on every page that the picture is a representation of the animal and not an actual photo of what you will receive. Not trying to decieve anyone with misleading pictures.

I wasn't necessarily "hiring to build reputation". Maybe I used the wrong wording. I was hiring to get classifieds posted and spread the word about the animals available.

My business is not for everyone. If you need to speak to someone on the phone, there are vendors that gladly do that. If you need to see what you are buying, there are local vendors and shows for that. But if you want a quality animal at a good price with a good guarantee, found where it is easy and secure to shop online, GeneralExotics.com can help you out.

Thanks for your time. You may now proceed to pick this post apart :)
 
My business is not for everyone. If you need to speak to someone on the phone, there are vendors that gladly do that. If you need to see what you are buying, there are local vendors and shows for that. But if you want a quality animal at a good price with a good guarantee, found where it is easy and secure to shop online, GeneralExotics.com can help you out..

That is exactly what I need. But I also get a quality animal at a good price and guarantee as well. What is it you provide that others don't? From what I can see there is really no reason for someone to buy from you when there are numerous reputable breeders with great customer service who provide actual pictures of the reptiles.

Just my two cents.

By the way I'm curious since you didn't ask permission to use Gus's picture does that mean you considered it public domain?
 
Back
Top