• Responding to email notices you receive.
    **************************************************
    In short, DON'T! Email notices are to ONLY alert you of a reply to your private message or your ad on this site. Replying to the email just wastes your time as it goes NOWHERE, and probably pisses off the person you thought you replied to when they think you just ignored them. So instead of complaining to me about your messages not being replied to from this site via email, please READ that email notice that plainly states what you need to do in order to reply to who you are trying to converse with.

  • IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ!! About the Google Adsense ads being displayed

    =====================
    Posted 08/15/2025
    =====================


    Yeah, I know. They are a pain in the butt. But they pay the bills to keep my server running. Just a fact of life, I am afraid.

    Want to get rid of them? Simple. Just become a Contributor level member or above and they will be gone. -> Please click HERE."

    Is that too much for me to ask of you to keep this site running? Well, sorry about that. I too wish I could get everything for free. But alas.....

    =====================
    Addendum: 01/10/2026
    =====================


    Google Adsense ad revenue for December, 2025 was just $30 over the cost of the lease for the server running this site. So, in effect, the money providing the incentive for me to continue running this site is coming SOLELY from the paid memberships and sponsorships here. Which honestly ain't much....

Inquiry on liak from Nigeria

SPJ

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2002
Messages
7,046
Reaction score
240
Points
63
Age
56
Location
Seymour, CT
Here is the ad.
30 redfoots for $150 shipped.
ScreenShot001.jpg
 
Lists himself in Nigeria, has a yahoo.com.uk email and posted from an AOL IP in the US. Yea, he's a scammer alright. Thanks for the heads up, he's banned.
 
There's a new similar ad from someone saying they are in the UK, any relation to the ad above?
 
Sounds Like Larry Holiday

Sound like the "Larry Holiday". The guy I did a BOI thread on awhile back. He regitered from Nigeria, said he was in UK. Then said he owned a house in Georgia. That ad was on KS. Looks like he is looking for new "hunting grounds".
 
I would be seriously leery of anyone posting from Nigeria. I'm sure there are many fine people in that country, but it is also the current hotbed for scammers.

This does, however, give me an opportunity to offer this link, which is some of the funniest stuff I have ever read on the internet:

http://www.ebolamonkeyman.com

Disclaimer: Do not drink soda or coffee while reading this, as it may shoot out your nose. ;)
 
lucille said:
There's a new similar ad from someone saying they are in the UK, any relation to the ad above?
Nigerian IP. He's gone too along with the ad.
 
Powderfinger said:
I would be seriously leery of anyone posting from Nigeria. I'm sure there are many fine people in that country, but it is also the current hotbed for scammers.

This does, however, give me an opportunity to offer this link, which is some of the funniest stuff I have ever read on the internet:

http://www.ebolamonkeyman.com

Disclaimer: Do not drink soda or coffee while reading this, as it may shoot out your nose. ;)
OMG!!! That is beautiful man! What a great site! Are those guys a couple of genius or what! Man, I have not laughed that hard in a long time!!:rofl:
 
Beware of anyone out of the country. There are many people out there that claim to be from the UK, China, Nigeria, and many other places that will just take your money and run. Do your research before purchasing from ANYONE, or you may be out of luck.

Good luck to those of you trying to get into the game! :cool:
 
yeah these scammers and phishers are getting dummer.

I am not sure If I am allowed to put this here.....it might be out of topic.

But it is about these same scammer phisher (sp)

The date today is November 4 2005
I got a spoof e-mail from "paypal" <--- note the quotes......it means I know it was not from paypal.

Anyway here it part of it
QUOTE
PayPal Security Measures!


We are contacting you to remind you that: on 30 November 2005 our Account Review Team identified some unusual activity in your account, one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal account from a foreign IP address. IP Address Time Country
80.53.1.130 Apr. 30, 2005 15:05:08 PDT Poland
80.53.255.174 Apr. 30, 2005 15:07:58 PDT Poland
141.85.99.169 Apr. 30, 2005 15:13:09 PDT Romania
141.85.99.169 Apr. 30, 2005 21:28:08 PDT Romania
195.61.146.130 Apr. 30, 2005 21:33:43 PDT Romania
In accordance with PayPal's User Agreement and to ensure that your account has not been compromised, access to your account was limited. Your account access will remain limited until this issue has been resolved. To secure your account and quickly restore full access, we may require some additional information from you.


To securely confirm your PayPal information please go directly to https://www.paypal.com/ log in to your PayPal account and perform the steps necessary to restore your account access as soon as possible or click on the link bellow:

UNQUOTE


So on november 30 2005 they reviewed my account.
That will be in the future since it is only the fourth (4th)
I guess I should say on November 30 2005 they WILL review my account.

All I can say is DUH


Sort of like one of these scammers saw my add here on fauna.
Asked me how much it was ($$$right there on the add)
Shipping was included FREE (but he will send his "shipping company to pick up item)
Shipping ONLY to the US (the guy was from Nigeria)

He was gonna have his buddy send me the money 2000+ I will then send him the extra. Then he will have his shipping company pick up the item. Yeah I have something for them to pick up. Comes in their choice of Caliber
 
Powderfinger said:
I would be seriously leery of anyone posting from Nigeria. I'm sure there are many fine people in that country, but it is also the current hotbed for scammers.

This does, however, give me an opportunity to offer this link, which is some of the funniest stuff I have ever read on the internet:

http://www.ebolamonkeyman.com

Disclaimer: Do not drink soda or coffee while reading this, as it may shoot out your nose. ;)


Damn now I am going to be up all night reading those e-mails......
That is just the best
 
We should all send the 'monkey man' all of our scammer e-mails! LOL

:rofl:

This one could be named 'Liek Mahbuuti'

:rofl: :rofl:
 
Powderfinger said:
I would be seriously leery of anyone posting from Nigeria. I'm sure there are many fine people in that country, but it is also the current hotbed for scammers.

This does, however, give me an opportunity to offer this link, which is some of the funniest stuff I have ever read on the internet:

http://www.ebolamonkeyman.com

Disclaimer: Do not drink soda or coffee while reading this, as it may shoot out your nose. ;)

ROFL!!! That's my buddy Ben that did all that stuff!
 
I think I've said this before

...But bad spelling, grammar, and inappropriate capitalization (we're not talking little things, like spelling "a lot" as "alot" or things like that)... generally is a red flag, not that the person is a scammer, but at the very least is... well... not so bright.

How many times have you seen this ad?

"got a 9ft albino burm eating great perrtty snake asking 300"

Doesn't it make you wonder how serious the person can possibly be if they don't even bother to use correct spelling and grammar in their ads?
 
Well, there are people out there that truely can't spell. I get lots of e-mails from people who are either just lazy or really can't spell, and they are truely interested in my products. It does make it that much more difficult to do buisness with them, but you can't judge a person (completely) by their spelling. (It does send up red flags though, doesn't it? ;) )
 
Back
Top