I think if I were you Rich, I would have my attorney handle it.
Nah.... The people at ICANN are probably going to laugh their butts off over it. I'm sure they get this sort of thing all of the time.
But yeah, maybe I do need to look at the possibility of civil damages if this complaint appears to have been filed solely to damage my auction's outcome. The timing of this is rather unusual, I think, since I have had this domain name since early June, 2003. Why NOW?
Hmmmm, It is saying that you acted in "bad faith" with the intention of and have done harm to Jeffs business by "confusing" his customers.
No, not even close. I got the name because John O had some problems. They are all documented elsewhere, so I see no need to dredge that up again. It was a fair amount of money, but I really was not hurting for money, but I really didn't want to tell him to just forget it either. It was actually a shock to me when I realized that he had ownership of kingsnakes.com! I think it came to me when I was looking over the stats on my FaunaTopSites listing and I noticed his URL. This was a no brainer. It would let John off the hook, I could gracefully forgive the debt, and in the same fell swoop have that domain name in my stable.
Yes, I knew it would aggravate JeffB when he learned about it, but it was the OWNERSHIP part that I thought was hilarious, not anything I would actually do with it. Let's face it, my hands are full enough with the stuff I already have active and other plans in the works. So all I did was put it on my list of parked domains that have a referral to FaunaClassifieds.com. So kingsnakes.com was only one of 34 or so OTHER domain names that were set up as referrals, and it was nothing at all special about it. So there was absolutely NO intent of any harm, since I just didn't give it any other thought and that seemed a reasonable thing to do with the name while it was on the back burner.
Since ICANN is an arbitration group for issues like this, I thought that arbitration took place AFTER all else failed to reach a resolution. Never once was I approached by anyone in reference to what I was doing with that domain name. I'll have to read over the ICANN website again, but I suspect that JeffB might not even have legal standing for this issue to even reach arbitration. But in every instance I have had to contact ICANN, ice ages could come and go before they would get back to you. So I'm not expecting anything to happen anytime soon. Especially not before that domain name might not even be mine any longer and the entire issue of being accused of my "intent" with that site is completely moot. The domain name probably will no longer belong to me by then anyway. The intent of the new owner would be to do with that site as they pleased.
Of course, JeffB could contact the owner of ReptiBid, if they are on friendly terms, and ask him to yank that auction.... :laugh: