• Responding to email notices you receive.
    **************************************************
    In short, DON'T! Email notices are to ONLY alert you of a reply to your private message or your ad on this site. Replying to the email just wastes your time as it goes NOWHERE, and probably pisses off the person you thought you replied to when they think you just ignored them. So instead of complaining to me about your messages not being replied to from this site via email, please READ that email notice that plainly states what you need to do in order to reply to who you are trying to converse with.

  • IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ!! About the Google Adsense ads being displayed

    =====================
    Posted 08/15/2025
    =====================


    Yeah, I know. They are a pain in the butt. But they pay the bills to keep my server running. Just a fact of life, I am afraid.

    Want to get rid of them? Simple. Just become a Contributor level member or above and they will be gone. -> Please click HERE."

    Is that too much for me to ask of you to keep this site running? Well, sorry about that. I too wish I could get everything for free. But alas.....

    =====================
    Addendum: 01/10/2026
    =====================


    Google Adsense ad revenue for December, 2025 was just $30 over the cost of the lease for the server running this site. So, in effect, the money providing the incentive for me to continue running this site is coming SOLELY from the paid memberships and sponsorships here. Which honestly ain't much....

Lauren Wilson Buyer Inquiry

MRC31

Crazy Crotalid Junkie
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
239
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
54
Location
Casa Grande, Arizona
I received a inquiry to a ghost boa i have for sale from a person named Lauren Wilson [email protected]. I have the snake listed for sale for $700 shipped and they are asking me if I am the owner, what was my last offer, then they are interested in making immediate payment with a money order for the asking price.

It just seems odd. I like to deal with good people if I am buying OR selling. Anyone heard of this person? It just seems fishy but they are offering to send a money order for the exact amount and not 3 million dollars and me refund the difference so who knows? Anyone?

Here are the emails.

Lauren
Am willing and interested in buying your reptile,
get back at me via my email if it is still available for sale. Are you the owner? What are the conditions ??? send me recent pictures if available. What is your last offer?Im interested in making immediate payments to you WITH MONEY ORDER for the asking price of your reptile.

----------------------------------------------
Click on (or cut and paste into you browser's
location window) the URL below to view the ad that
this message is in response to.

http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?de=567743&cat=8

My reply
M C <[email protected]> wrote:

He is still available. The picture was taken two nights ago, he is in shed. I am the owner. I will accept a overnight postal money order. I prefer paypal but will take a money order if over-nighted. I have a couple people interested, so let me know. Thanks
Micah

Lauren
Thanks you so much for your reply,please forward ASAP your details,Full name and Address and telephone number for the payment to be issue on time with money order ,I am counting on your support in concluding this transaction within the shortest possible time.
Sent 11:16 PM, Jan 14th, 2008 from I.P. Address 83.138.172.72/vanadium.onspeed.com
 
It's a scam.
Sent 11:16 PM, Jan 14th, 2008 from I.P. Address 83.138.172.7
OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID: RIPE
Address: P.O. Box 10096
City: Amsterdam
StateProv:
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country: NL
 
Thanks guys ! Dennis how do you check the IP's?

maybe it's legit, I did offer him for $700 shipped. I better go back and put $700 shipped in the USA-LOL.
 
MRC31 said:
Thanks guys ! Dennis how do you check the IP's?

maybe it's legit, I did offer him for $700 shipped. I better go back and put $700 shipped in the USA-LOL.
http://ws.arin.net/whois

_____________________________________
My next guess is that they will tell you they are going to send you a cashiers check of some sort and you will be asked to forward the balance somewhere else. You could play them along for awhile.
 
Dennis Hultman said:
It's a scam.
Sent 11:16 PM, Jan 14th, 2008 from I.P. Address 83.138.172.7
OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre
OrgID: RIPE
Address: P.O. Box 10096
City: Amsterdam
StateProv:
PostalCode: 1001EB
Country: NL
Make sure you go to the RIPE database to see the actual city the IP is in. Amsterdam is the city RIPE is headquartered in, not the city the IP comes back to. ARIN.net only points you to the correct database if they do not have domain over a particular IP. This particular IP is out of the UK. This is still most definitely a Nigerian Scam.
 
DThomas said:
Make sure you go to the RIPE database to see the actual city the IP is in. Amsterdam is the city RIPE is headquartered in, not the city the IP comes back to. ARIN.net only points you to the correct database if they do not have domain over a particular IP. This particular IP is out of the UK. This is still most definitely a Nigerian Scam.

Thanks!
 
Typical Scamming Format

I've recieved numerous requests in that format. It is definately a scam. Recently recieved one from a herp friendly museum in....Africa. Heck I told the guy I'd give him the snake if he just paid shipping. I never heard back from him again. The language has improved but the key sign it's a scam is:

What's the final asking price?

Unless you are already setup for OCONUS shipping, it's probably not worth your time to find out if its legit or not.

Russ Bates
 
I received the exact same email. It's garbage.
Before I knew for SURE it was garbage, I indulged the "buyer" and replied like normal. I received this today...

Moreover,about the shipment my shipping agent will handle that and the payment will come from one of my debtors with the amount of $2700 which you will wire the change to my shipping agent through western union for the transportation(flight ticket) of the reptile to my residence i will let you know as soon as payment is sent.

It's your typical scam. Time to move on :)
 
First post in a LONG time, forgot to add my name :)
Jonathan Brady

Anyone know how to enter their name so it shows on the left? I thought it would be automatic. It's not under "User CP"--> Edit profile so I'm not sure where I'd find it...?
 
Back
Top