• Responding to email notices you receive.
    **************************************************
    In short, DON'T! Email notices are to ONLY alert you of a reply to your private message or your ad on this site. Replying to the email just wastes your time as it goes NOWHERE, and probably pisses off the person you thought you replied to when they think you just ignored them. So instead of complaining to me about your messages not being replied to from this site via email, please READ that email notice that plainly states what you need to do in order to reply to who you are trying to converse with.

  • IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ!! About the Google Adsense ads being displayed

    =====================
    Posted 08/15/2025
    =====================


    Yeah, I know. They are a pain in the butt. But they pay the bills to keep my server running. Just a fact of life, I am afraid.

    Want to get rid of them? Simple. Just become a Contributor level member or above and they will be gone. -> Please click HERE."

    Is that too much for me to ask of you to keep this site running? Well, sorry about that. I too wish I could get everything for free. But alas.....

    =====================
    Addendum: 01/10/2026
    =====================


    Google Adsense ad revenue for December, 2025 was just $30 over the cost of the lease for the server running this site. So, in effect, the money providing the incentive for me to continue running this site is coming SOLELY from the paid memberships and sponsorships here. Which honestly ain't much....

Bad Guy silviacavalleri1978 Scamming Nephrurus...Really?

bombax1212

Joshua Bombax
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
30
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Lititz, PA, USA
This is my first BOI Thread, so here goes:

The following ad for Nephrurus for sale in the agamid section of Fauna is a scam:

http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=321266

It is listed by silviacavalleri1978 (with one previous post) and listed from NY.

My evidence that user is not from NY:

http://www.geckosunlimited.com/community/members/silviacavalleri1978.html

http://www.aussiepythons.com/forum/...on-42/nephrurus-asper-nephrurus-amyea-177502/

Silvia sent to me the same great pics of the aspers as is the Aussie ad above on aussie python.

And to wrap it up; a link to previous fauna scam ad by chris frost (alias Chris Harrison) in Lancashire with the same exact animals for sale that is an obvious scam.

http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=154479

Silvia Cavalleri has great pics that I'm sure are stolen, so don't be fooled. There are a lot of other issues that I wont point out because they could help the scammer in the future. I am confident that the user silviacavalleri1978 is only a scammer and has no knob tailed geckos for sale. If the user is in fact Silvia Cavalleri, the professional female golfer, and is also a nephrurus breeder, I could end-up looking quite the fool. ;) But I smell a scammer.

Josh Bombax
Lititz, PA
 
Hello,

I was also very interested in his Nephrurus. However they requested me to send money before they sent me pictures.

Also the EXACT same list of geckos was found on a different website (http://www.adoos.com/post/9932515/12_nephrurus_asper_for_sale) with way cheaper prices than I was quoted and they were located in Alabama when that ad was posted on November 29, 2011. Also the EXACT same ages are listed. Not 7-8 months older from that ad that they should be...

Also from several email exchanges I found out that they are located in "England Glasgow." <-- That’s what they told me.

I could not get all the information from the pictures they sent me of the species. However I could see that the wheeleri pictures they sent me were taken in 2009. Most were taken on different cameras also.

I am attaching all the pictures they sent me, anyone recognize them?

Definite scam, No doubt in my mind.

Thanks Erik
 

Attachments

  • Nephrurus Amyae..jpg
    Nephrurus Amyae..jpg
    32.2 KB · Views: 1,006
  • Nephrurus Amyae.jpg
    Nephrurus Amyae.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 1,004
  • Nephrurus Asper pics2.jpg
    Nephrurus Asper pics2.jpg
    206.9 KB · Views: 1,010
  • Nephrurus Asper pics6.jpg
    Nephrurus Asper pics6.jpg
    212.7 KB · Views: 1,012
More pictures they sent me.

Thanks Erik
 

Attachments

  • Nephrurus laevissimus 2.jpg
    Nephrurus laevissimus 2.jpg
    98 KB · Views: 1,011
  • Nephrurus laevissimus.jpg
    Nephrurus laevissimus.jpg
    126.6 KB · Views: 1,013
  • Nephrurus levis.jpg
    Nephrurus levis.jpg
    122.5 KB · Views: 1,010
Here are the last two pictures they sent me. These are the two that were taken in 2009 according to the properties on the picture.

Thanks Erik
 

Attachments

  • Nephrurus wheeleri cinctus pair 1.jpg
    Nephrurus wheeleri cinctus pair 1.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 1,006
  • Nephrurus wheeleri cinctus.jpg
    Nephrurus wheeleri cinctus.jpg
    58.5 KB · Views: 1,005
photos of the babies on sand stolen from user Sarah on Geckos Unlimited from 2008
 

Attachments

  • tubgeckos.jpg
    tubgeckos.jpg
    159.4 KB · Views: 837
just served on the nicest dinnerware, sorry but these clown scammers are always trying to sell plastic plates, and get busted everytime. I would for our community to really be apperhensive about all new comers. i yell great job by the mods, I almost went forward in interest of these animals that clearly do not belong to them, that they are pawning off as theirs !
 
Scams back up on fauna with new add and new pictures. I don't think the old add was ever pulled. Can an administrator please look into getting this scam down before someone else is taken. Silvia cavalleri's activity on fauna and other sites has been to post fake nephrurus adds. Joshua Bombax, Lancaster, pa.
 
Scams back up on fauna with new add and new pictures.

is there a new user name? I only see the 1 ad from the 1st post in this thread for user silviacavalleri1978.

Can an administrator please look into getting this scam down before someone else is taken.

Sorry we do not ban people for their ads or being a 'scam'. The admin and staff are not the judge and jury, it is up to each individual to use the tools available (like this BOI) to research who they want to buy from (or sell to). Here's a link to a discussion about this in the feedback forum so this thread doesn't go off topic:
http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=283253
 
Same person is trying to sell some of the same geckos on several German and Italian websites, claiming to be from Germany.

I just went through a similar situation the other day, it is a SCAM.
 
Maybe off topic but.....I love it when April and the mods breaks a scammer down. Great investigation.

Words from my mouth haha! Also, those are BEAUTIFUL animals. Thanks to the OP for looking out for the good people in this community!
 
is there a new user name? I only see the 1 ad from the 1st post in this thread for user silviacavalleri1978.

Yes, He has TWO user names. Or at least both user names list the same email address, therefore I would say it’s the same person.

Username: tokaygecko
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Unted Kiingdom birminigahm
Posts: 5
Name : hermann karaja
Email to contact listed in ad: [email protected]
Ads: http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=367575
http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368101
-- He also has some boa/python/tokay gecko ads...

Username: silviacavalleri1978
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: ny
Posts: 1
Name : silvia cavalleri
Email to contact listed in ad: [email protected]
Ads: http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=321266


If an IP check was done, I am willing to bet that they have the same IP #.

Thanks Erik
 
If an IP check was done, I am willing to bet that they have the same IP #.
How much are you willing to bet? That used to be an easy way to catch people, but (some) people have gotten smarter about concealing that connection.
 
That is true that it is possible. But considering that this person has been called out before for using others pictures and yet they still use the same email address leads me to believe they might not be that bright..

Although he just posted two more ads. The amyae ad has pictures and wording from ballpythonsforsale.net, the Leachianus ad only used the words but the pictures aren't the same..

His new email address is [email protected] ...

http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368165

http://www.faunaclassifieds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368159

Thanks Erik
 
Back
Top